Where the Copa Libertadores final might be won

Finals experience
Having won the Libertadores under Gallardo in 2015, the River line-up boasts several players who know what it means to lift the trophy. Mora, Jonatan Maidana, Leonardo Ponzio, Gonzalo Pity Martinez and Camilo Mayada all formed part of that Copa-winning side, while Enzo Perez won it with Estudiantes in 2009 and Franco Armani did likewise with Atletico Nacional in 2016.

Boca have four former winners in their ranks: Tevez (in 2003), Emmanuel Mas and Julio Buffarini, who helped San Lorenzo claim the trophy in 2014, and coach Barros Schelotto, a four-time Copa champion in his playing days, in 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2007.

Their defensive diamond
With Armani in goal, Maidana and Javier Pinola in central defence and Ponzio in the midfield holding role, Los Millonarios possess a solid and experienced back-line. In the knockout rounds River have conceded just two goals when those four have all been on the pitch.

Boca’s two goals in the first leg came against a River side shorn of the services of Ponzio, who was sidelined with a muscle strain. The defensive midfielder was also absent when Gremio scored in the second leg of the semi-final, having earlier been substituted.